每年有1.8 亿吨有毒、化学和☢️ 放射性废物被倾倒到海洋中。 倾倒导致“无形的水污染”逐年累积和增加。 150 年来,有害废物一直在海水中积累。

工业企业以眼不见心不烦”的理念,将海洋视为无底洞

海洋中一些比陆地更大的区域被称为“死亡区”,没有鱼可以生存。

近年来在挪威被冲上来的数十只死亡鲸鱼婴儿表明,它们在出生前就已经被有毒化学物质污染,日本最近否认从挪威运来有毒鲸鱼肉。

(2021) 死去的逆戟鲸宝宝揭示了鲸鱼宝宝的有害化学物质含量 一项新的研究发现,对 2017 年在挪威被冲上来的一只 10 天大的逆戟鲸进行的尸检表明,即使是小牛,这些标志性的鲸鱼也充满了有毒化学物质。 来源: Live Science (2015) 日本拒绝挪威的有毒鲸鱼肉 一批鲸肉中发现的有毒化学物质使挪威捕鲸成为焦点。 来源: The Guardian

sea bird在过去的几十年里,67% 的海鸟已经死亡。许多海鸟物种可能在未来几十年内灭绝。

(2018) 海鸟在几十年内灭绝 最近的一项研究发现,从 1950 年到 2010 年,海鸟数量下降了 67%。“基本上海鸟正在灭绝,”威尔科克斯说。 “几十年内。” 来源: journals.plos.org | Eco Watch | National Geographic


L.A. Times杀虫剂滴滴涕海洋倾倒是犯罪行为

洛杉矶海岸附近的半百万桶强效和剧毒杀虫剂滴滴涕正等待被释放到水中。加利福尼亚的 🐬 海豚被 DDT 污染,该地区的 🦭 海狮正死于侵袭性癌症。 DDT 是一种持久性(永久)化学品。

(2022) 科学家发现加州秃鹰体内积聚了滴滴涕化学物质 经过多年的研究,塔布斯和一个环境健康科学家团队已经确定了 40 多种与 DDT 相关的化合物,以及一些未知的化学物质,这些化合物一直在海洋生态系统中循环,并在这种位于地球顶端的标志性鸟类中积累。食物链。

“南加州的丰度如此之高,”Hoh 说,他不断发现这种永远存在的化学物质以新的和意想不到的方式重新出现。 “我们不能继续前进……我们的海洋被 DDT 污染得更厉害了。”

奥克兰的一项研究发现,DDT 的激素干扰作用正在影响新一代女性——从母亲传给女儿,现在是孙女。
来源: Phys.org
(2022) 洛杉矶海岸的杀虫剂滴滴涕海洋倾倒的历史比预期的还要糟糕 尽管 DDT(二氯二苯基三氯乙烷)在 50 年前被禁止使用,但其有毒且阴险的遗产继续困扰着加利福尼亚海岸附近的海洋生态系统。 来源: Los Angeles Times

☢️核废料倾倒

在 1972 年海洋倾倒法案之前,放射性废物的倾倒在美国是合法的,并且是大规模进行的,很少关心海洋健康。今天,放射性核废料仍被倾倒在索马里等几个国家的海洋中。

西方工业公司一直在向索马里海岸线附近不受监管的海岸自由倾倒大量有毒有害物质和☢️核废料,据当地人称,其中包括来自瑞士、意大利、德国、丹麦、挪威和瑞典的公司。

🇺🇳 联合国驻索马里特使:'有人在这里倾倒核材料。还有铅,以及镉和汞等重金属。 '其中大部分可以追溯到欧洲🏥医院和工厂。

没有媒体关注!

值得注意的是,索马里海域的核废料倾倒行为几乎没有引起媒体关注。这个问题在 2005 年的海啸中暴露出来,海啸导致数百个装有核废料的桶被冲到海滩上。

☢️核废料倾倒

nuclear waste dump Somalia

在英国布里斯托尔的“expertsure.com”上有关此案的最重要文章之一(在谷歌中排名第 1 位)中,表明 🇯🇵 日本计划倾倒核水在 2023 年,受到了很多关注,而直到现在,索马里海洋中的核废料倾倒几乎没有受到关注。

Ollie Smith首席执行官 ExpertSure.com具有讽刺意味的是,最近在🇯🇵日本发生的核灾难受到如此多的关注和关注,但绝对没有说或做任何事情来保护数十年来因我们非法倾倒的危险核废料而中毒的数百万索马里人。谁是这里真正的犯罪海盗?

昨天,英国广播公司报道说,受损的福岛反应堆现场的辐射水平是正常水平的一千万倍。随着受损核电站附近的海洋被越来越多的核辐射污染,人们越来越担心地球的海洋能承受多少放射性毒物。

然而,尽管它没有像日本正在发生的灾难那样受到关注,但大量非法倾倒的放射性核废料仍在被扔进索马里的海洋,这可能会成为一场更加致命的灾难。

来源: ExpertSure.com (PDF backup)

🏴‍☠️ 来自索马里的海盗行动

2008 年,索马里海盗开始劫持该地区的船只,劫持的目标越来越多,包括军火船、油轮和游轮,并从船主那里索取巨额赎金。

(2008) 2008年被索马里海盗袭击的船只清单 来源: 维基百科

在西方媒体中,海盗被描述为野蛮人,但没有提及将有毒废物倾倒在索马里海洋中的动机。

一个例子是《卫报》上的一篇文章(只字未提“倾倒有毒废物”)。

(2008) 野蛮的索马里海盗如何统治世界公海 它已成为世界上最危险的海域,每周都有欧洲船只遭到袭击。在索马里海岸外,凶残的海盗劫持豪华游艇、大型游轮甚至食品援助船,索要并索取巨额赎金。 来源: The Guardian

根据多个消息来源,海盗的动机与 🇪🇺 欧洲公司在索马里海域倾倒有毒废物有关。

(2009) 索马里的海洋被用作有毒垃圾场 各国政府和非政府组织谴责海盗的行为是对国际海事法的侮辱,但很少有人审查海盗声称索马里继续发生更大的犯罪:非法倾倒有毒废物。 来源: 生态学家 (2008) 索马里海盗背后的“有毒废物” 索马里海盗指责欧洲公司在索马里海岸倾倒有毒废物,并要求支付 800 万美元的赎金,以归还他们捕获的一艘乌克兰船只,并表示这笔钱将用于清理废物。 来源: 商业与人权

倾倒有毒化学废物

Whale HCB pollution

一些有毒化学废物,如六氯苯 (HCB),在欧洲被拒绝加工,因此被倾倒在索马里的海洋中。索马里当地人报告说,德国和丹麦的航运公司最近从澳大利亚倾销了 60,000 桶六氯苯。

一克六氯苯足以污染十亿加仑(超过 30 亿升)的水。

皇家化学学会最近的一项研究(2019 年)表明,座头鲸因 HCB 污染而生病,导致各种健康影响、DNA 损伤和癌症。 HCB 在鲸鱼的污染物中占主导地位。

(2019) 六氯苯在稳定暴露条件下对座头鲸细胞系产生遗传毒性作用 座头鲸和其他极地野生动物一样,会积累持久性有机污染物。在南半球种群中,六氯苯 (HCB) 占主导地位。 HCB 与多种健康影响有关,被归类为 2B 类致癌物。 来源: 皇家化学学会

欧洲海洋中的有毒化学“定时炸弹”

一颗滴答作响的定时炸弹躺在许多欧洲海域的表面之下。据估计,仅北海和波罗的海的德国部分地区就含有约 160 万公吨的遗物弹药。这些常规武器和化学武器威胁着人类生命和海洋环境。武器、TNT 和其他爆炸物会慢慢腐烂,将细胞毒性、遗传毒性和致癌化学物质等有害物质释放到水中。


nuclear water dump

☢️ 2023 年 🇯🇵 日本的放射性水倾倒

在福岛第一核电站核灾难发生 10 年后,🇯🇵 日本政府于 2021 年 4 月 13 日星期二决定,于 2023 年开始向太平洋释放放射性水。

据德国海洋科学研究所称,一旦将这些水域倾倒到海洋中,放射性物质可能会在 57 天内扩散到太平洋大部分地区,并在十年内扩散到所有海洋,这可能对海洋生物造成灾难。


财富 500 强公司倾倒有毒废物

价值 1800 亿美元的石油公司 Trafigura BV(财富 500 强排名第 31 位)的首席执行官最近下令将一艘装满剧毒有毒废物的油轮倾倒到海洋中。

Trafigura BV 首席执行官致船长:超越多佛,当然不在波罗的海。

Trafigura BV 的首席执行官发送了一封电子邮件,警告不要将有毒的有毒废物排放到波罗的海:

“因为这是一个特殊的区域,当然不在多佛和波罗的海之间。在前往洛美(尼日利亚)的途中,直到多佛经过,才能进行卸货。

托克首席执行官与公司员工之间的电子邮件通信进一步表明,他们知道禁止将有毒废物从欧盟运送到其他国家。

(2009) 托克石油公司如何试图掩盖有毒废物倾倒场 “由于废物(硫醇、苯酚)的危险性,大多数国家都禁止碱洗” 来源: The Guardian

有毒废物不是海洋,而是被倾倒在科特迪瓦,费用为 20,000 美元。造成15人死亡,10万多人重病,其中2.6万人因倾倒而住院。

(2022) 科特迪瓦的有毒废物倾倒暴露了全球化的“阴暗面” 最臭名昭著的危险废物倾倒事件之一发生在南非,夸祖鲁纳塔尔省的一家工厂不情愿地接收了数千吨加工过的汞,这些汞被不加选择地倾倒在陆地上和海水中。 来源: 世界政治评论

当一家荷兰财富 500 强公司轻松做到这一点时,正如托克 BV 首席执行官的内部沟通所证明的那样——“超越多佛,当然不是在波罗的海。 ”——它发生的频率比我们所知的要多。

Trafigura BV 倾倒的有毒废物是在公海进行的提高汽油价值的过程的副产品。由于产生这种有毒废物具有相当大的利润动机,并且由于加工困难且成本高,因此可能比预期更频繁地将其倾倒在海洋中。

(2021) 科学家:“海洋中有大量化学物质,我们几乎一无所知” 工业公司已将海洋用作有毒废物的倾倒场。危险的工业化学品和放射性废物在海洋中积累了 150 年。 来源: Grist

结论

whale and baby来自挪威的鲸鱼肉如今已被污染,日本才可以接受,而鲸鱼宝宝冲上岸时充满了致命的化学物质,这表明有毒废物污染正在海洋中积累到如此严重的程度。个别鲸鱼无法健康出生的程度。

你想帮忙吗?考虑鲸鱼和海豚哲学。如果不知道要保护什么,人类怎么会有动力呢?哲学可以帮助推动人海关系的文化变革。

女性在结构上被排除在哲学之外

女性在结构上被排除在哲学之外,这可能有助于解释为什么在代表动物和自然的道德和伦理方面缺乏进步。

当女性参与哲学,世界会更美好吗?动物和海洋会得到更好的对待吗?是否会更好地理解为什么尊重自然很重要?

(2021) 我们对鲸鱼和海豚的智力了解多少? “鲸鱼能和人类一样聪明,甚至更聪明吗?” 来源: 鲸鱼科学家

Yearly, 180 million tons of toxic, chemical and ☢️ radioactive waste is dumped into the oceans. By comparison, 300 million people in USA send about 120 million tons of trash to landfills every year.

The dumping results in 'invisible water pollution' that accumulates and increases every year. Hazardous waste has been accumulating in the ocean water for 150 years.

Industrial companies treat the ocean as a bottomless pit with the idea out of sight, out of mind

Some zones in the ocean that are larger than land continents are called ‘death zone’ where no fish can live.

Dozens of death whale babies that washed up in Norway in recent years show that they are already contaminated with toxic chemicals before they are born and Japan recently denied a shipment of toxic whale meat from Norway.

(2021) Dead baby orca reveals harmful chemical levels in baby whales A necropsy of a 10-day-old orca that washed up in Norway in 2017 has revealed that even as calves, these iconic whales are full of toxic chemicals, a new study finds. Source: Live Science (2015) Japan refuses Norway’s toxic whale meat Toxic chemicals identified in a shipment of whale meat put the spotlight on Norwegian whaling. Source: The Guardian

sea birdIn the past decades, 67 percent of all seabirds have died. Many seabird species could become extinct in the coming decades.

(2018) Seabirds extinct within decades A recent study found a 67 percent decline in seabird populations between 1950 and 2010. “Essentially seabirds are going extinct,” says Wilcox. “Within decades.” Source: journals.plos.org | Eco Watch | National Geographic


L.A. TimesInsecticide DDT ocean dumping is criminal

Half a million barrels of the potent and highly toxic insecticide DDT off the coast of Los Angeles are waiting to be released into the water. Californian 🐬 dolphins are contaminated with DDT and 🦭 sea lions in the region are dying of an aggressive cancer. DDT is a persistent (forever) chemical.

(2022) Scientists find DDT chemicals accumulating in California condors After years of study, Tubbs and a team of environmental health scientists have identified more than 40 DDT-related compounds—along with a number of unknown chemicals—that have been circulating through the marine ecosystem and accumulating in this iconic bird at the very top of the food chain.

“The abundance is so high in Southern California,” said Hoh, who keeps finding this forever chemical reappearing in new and unexpected ways. “We can't just move on … our ocean is so much more polluted with DDT.”

A study based in Oakland found that DDT's hormone-disrupting effects are affecting a new generation of women—passed down from mothers to daughters, and now granddaughters.
Source: Phys.org
(2022) Here’s what we know about the legacy of DDT dumping off L.A.'s coast Although DDT, dichlorodiphenyltrichloroethane, was banned 50 years ago, its toxic — and insidious — legacy continues to haunt the marine ecosystem off the California coast. Source: Los Angeles Times

☢️ nuclear waste dumping

Before the 1972 Ocean Dumping Act, the dumping of radioactive waste was legal in USA and was done on large scale with little care for marine health. Today radioactive nuclear waste is still being dumped in several countries such as in Somalia’s oceans.

Western industrial companies have been freely dumping tons of hazardous toxic and ☢️ nuclear waste into the unregulated shores off Somalia’s coastline, which according to locals include companies from Switzerland, Italy, Germany, Denmark, Norway and Sweden.

🇺🇳 UN envoy to Somalia: ‘Somebody is dumping nuclear material here. There is also lead, and heavy metals such as cadmium and mercury.’ Much of it can be traced back to European 🏥 hospitals and factories.

No media attention!

It is noteworthy that there has been almost no media attention for the nuclear waste dump practices in Somalia's oceans. The issue came to light in the 2005 tsunami that caused hundreds of barrels with nuclear waste to wash up on the beach.

☢️ nuclear waste dumping

nuclear waste dump Somalia

In one of the most major articles on the case (+/- number 1 in Google among just a few articles), on 'expertsure.com' from Bristol, UK, it is indicated that the planned dump of nuclear water by 🇯🇵 Japan in 2023, has received a lot of attention, while until now, the dump of nuclear waste in Somalia's oceans received almost no attention.

Ollie SmithCEO ExpertSure.comIt seems tragically ironic that so much care and attention are being focused on the recent nuclear catastrophe in 🇯🇵 Japan, yet absolutely nothing is being said or done to protect millions of Somalis who have been poisoned for decades by our illegally dumped hazardous nuclear waste. Who are the real criminal pirates here?

Yesterday the BBC reported that radiation levels at the crippled Fukushima reactor site are ten million times normal levels. As the oceans near the damaged nuclear plant are becoming contaminated with increasing amounts of nuclear radiation, concerns are growing about how much radioactive poison the planet’s seas can withstand.

However, although it is not receiving anywhere near as much attention as the unfolding disaster in Japan, the massive amounts of illegally dumped radioactive nuclear waste that are still being thrown into Somalia’s oceans potentially could prove to be an even more deadly catastrophe.

Source: ExpertSure.com (PDF backup)

🏴‍☠️ Pirate activism from Somalia

In 2008, pirates in Somalia started to hijack ships in the region, hijacking ever more prolific targets, including arms ships, oil tankers and cruise liners, and extracting huge ransoms from their owners.

(2008) List of ships attacked by Somali pirates in 2008 Source: WikiPedia

In Western media, the pirates were presented as savages without mentioning a motive related to toxic waste dumping in Somalia's oceans.

An example is an article in The Guardian (not a single mention of 'toxic waste dumping').

(2008) How savage Somali pirates reign on the world's high seas It has become the most dangerous strip of sea in the world with weekly attacks on European ships. Off the Somalian coast brutal pirates are hijacking luxury yachts, vast cruise liners and even food aid ships and demanding - and getting - huge ransoms. Source: The Guardian

According to several sources the pirates acted with a motive related to toxic waste dumping in Somalia's oceans by 🇪🇺 European companies.

(2009) Somalia's oceans used as toxic dumping ground National governments and NGOs decried the pirates’ actions as an affront to international maritime law, but few examined the pirates’ claim that a far greater crime continues in Somalia: the illegal dumping of toxic waste. Source: The Ecologist (2008) 'Toxic waste' behind Somali piracy Somali pirates have accused European firms of dumping toxic waste off the Somali coast and are demanding an $8m ransom for the return of a Ukrainian ship they captured, saying the money will go towards cleaning up the waste. Source: Business & Human Rights

Dumping of toxic chemical waste

Whale HCB pollution

Some toxic chemical waste such as hexachlorobenzene (HCB) is denied for processing in Europe and is therefor dumped in Somalia’s oceans. Somali locals reported that German and Danish shipping companies recently dumped 60,000 barrels of HCB from Australia.

One gram of HCB is enough to contaminate one billion gallons (over 3 billion litres) of water.

A recent study (2019) by Royal Society of Chemistry showed that Humpback whales are getting sick by HCB contamination, causing a variety of health effects, DNA damage and cancer. HCB dominates the contaminant profiles in whales.

(2019) Hexachlorobenzene exerts genotoxic effects in a humpback whale cell line under stable exposure conditions Humpback whales, like other polar wildlife, accumulate persistent organic pollutants. In Southern hemisphere populations, hexachlorobenzene (HCB) dominates the contaminant profiles. HCB is linked to a variety of health effects and is classified as a group 2B carcinogen. Source: Royal Society of Chemistry

Toxic chemical 'time bomb' in Europe's oceans

A ticking time bomb is lying beneath the surface of many European seas. It is estimated that German parts of the North Sea and the Baltic Sea alone contain some 1.6 million metric tonnes of relic munitions. These conventional and chemical weapons threaten human life and the marine environment. The weapons, TNT and other explosives slowly decay, releasing harmful substances like cytotoxic, genotoxic, and carcinogenic chemicals into the water.


nuclear water dump

☢️ Radioactive water dump by 🇯🇵 Japan in 2023

After 10 years of the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear disaster, the 🇯🇵 Japanese government has decided on Tuesday, April 13th 2021, to start releasing radioactive water into the Pacific Ocean in 2023.

According to a German Marine Scientific Research Institute, once the waters are dumped in the ocean, radioactive materials could spread to most of the Pacific Ocean within 57 days and all oceans within a decade, which could cause a disaster for marine life.


Toxic waste dumping by a Fortune 500 company

The CEO of $180 billion USD oil company Trafigura BV (fortune 500 rank 31) recently ordered to dump a tanker full of highly poisonous toxic waste into the ocean.

CEO of Trafigura BV to skipper: Beyond Dover, and certainly not in the Baltic Sea.

The CEO of Trafigura BV sent an email in which he warned not to discharge poisonous toxic waste into the Baltic Sea:

‘because this is a special area and certainly not between Dover and the Baltic Sea. The discharge may not take place until Dover has passed, on the way to Lomé (Nigeria)‘.

E-mail correspondence between Trafigura CEO and employees of the company further indicated that they knew that the transport of toxic waste from the EU to other countries was prohibited.

(2009) How oil company Trafigura tried to cover up toxic waste dump “Caustic washes are banned by most countries due to the hazardous nature of the waste (mercaptans, phenols)” Source: The Guardian

Instead of the ocean, the toxic waste was dumped in Ivory Coast for a fee of $20,000 USD. It caused the death of fifteen people and more than 100,000 people to become severely ill, of which 26,000 people were acutely hospitalized following the dumping.

(2022) Toxic Waste Dump in Ivory Coast Exposes 'Dark Underbelly' of Globalization One of the most notorious cases of hazardous waste dumping occurred in South Africa, where a plant in the Kwazulu Natal province was the reluctant recipient of thousands of tons of processed mercury, which was dumped indiscriminately over land, and into the ocean water. Source: World Politics Review

When a Dutch fortune 500 company does it with ease, as is evident from the internal communication by the CEO of Trafigura BV – “Beyond Dover, and certainly not in the Baltic Sea.” – it happens more often than is known.

The toxic waste that was dumped by Trafigura BV was a by-product of a process to increase the value of petrol, which is done at open sea. Since there is a considerable profit motive to create such toxic waste, and since processing is difficult and costly, it may be dumped in the ocean more often than expected.

(2021) Scientists: “there are massive chemical dumps in the ocean we know almost nothing about” Industrial companies have used the ocean as a dumping ground for toxic waste. Hazardous industrial chemicals and radioactive waste have been accumulating in the ocean for 150 years. Source: Grist

Conclusion

whale and babyThe fact that whale meat from Norway is to polluted as of today to be accepted in Japan, and the fact that whale babies are washing ashore full of deadly levels of chemicals, is an indication that toxic waste pollution is accumulating in the oceans to such an extent that individual whales are not able to be born healthy.

Do you want to help? Consider whale and dolphin philosophy. If it is not known what to protect, how can the human be motivated? Philosophy can help spur cultural change in human-ocean relations.

Women structurally excluded from philosophy

Women have been structurally excluded from philosophy, which may help explain why advancements in morality and ethics on behalf of animals and Nature is lacking.

When women participated in philosophy, would the world be better? Would animals and the ocean be treated better? Would there be better understanding of why it is important to have respect for Nature?

(2021) What do we know about intelligence in whales and dolphins? “Could whales be as smart, if not smarter, than humans?” Source: Whale Scientists